Note: Restoring a backup will also restore the WP-Admin password to the Admin password that is listed in the control panel under Website details, if the password was previously changed.



Navigate to the website you want to restore a previous version (backup file) of, and then on the left sub-menu click on Backups then click Restore Backup.

Backup Website
You can choose a backup from the same website, or from a different website that you own. You can even choose backups from deleted websites; remote backups are kept for up to 30 days after a website is deleted.

Remote Backups
Check the box to restore a remote backup. Leave the box unchecked if you want to restore a local backup.

  • The timestamp of all backups are UTC time zone.

Backup name
Find the backup file you want to restore and select it.

Click Continue and wait for the process to finish.

Partial Restore

Restore a backup partially by selectively including, or excluding files and database.

In the example above, we restore only the folders wp-content/uploads and wp-content/plugins along with the database. No other files will be restored.

You can also choose to restore everything except certain folders, and if you do not want to restore the database, click the checkbox next to Do not restore database.



Related: How to manually create a backup file

FAQ

Why are newly added files still present after restoring a backup?
This is because restoring a backup will not delete files or folders that have been added since when the backup was taken.

However, in the case of plugins and themes, all their configuration as well as their "state" (i.e. wether they are activated or not), is typically stored in the database, thus restoring the database will undo all their configuration even though their files will still be present after the restoration.

Need help?

We're here to help, please contact us if you need assistance, or simply click the chat logo in the bottom right corner of this page to get in touch with us.

Did this answer your question?